Encyclopedia Dubuque
"Encyclopedia Dubuque is the online authority for all things Dubuque, written by the people who know the city best.”
Marshall Cohen—researcher and producer, CNN
Affiliated with the Local History Network of the State Historical Society of Iowa, and the Iowa Museum Association.
KEY CITY HOUSE: Difference between revisions
No edit summary |
No edit summary |
||
Line 4: | Line 4: | ||
In 1854, additions were made to the original plan and it was used only for guests, transient and permanent. It was then called the [[BEAUBIEN HOUSE]]. Later when Dubuque was named the " Key City," the house, adopted the name. | In 1854, additions were made to the original plan and it was used only for guests, transient and permanent. It was then called the [[BEAUBIEN HOUSE]]. Later when Dubuque was named the " Key City," the house, adopted the name. | ||
In February 1864 the hotel was purchased by A. Harger of Milwaukee. (1) It was leased in March to Buckley and Waney who operated the Desoto House in Galena. (2) | In February 1864 the hotel was purchased by A. Harger of Milwaukee. (1) It was leased in March to Buckley and Waney who operated the Desoto House in Galena. (2) By 1874 the hotel was operated by [[PYNE, W. W.|W. W. PYNE]]. The hotel and its restaurant became involved in an "eating house war" with the opening of the Julien. To attract customers, Pyne traveled to St. Louis to purchase an omnibus to carry customers from the [[ILLINOIS CENTRAL RAILROAD]] depot at no charge. (3) | ||
The 1859-1860 through 1889 ''Dubuque City Directory'' listed the northeast corner of 3rd and Main. | The 1859-1860 through 1889 ''Dubuque City Directory'' listed the northeast corner of 3rd and Main. | ||
Line 18: | Line 18: | ||
2. "Key City House Rented," ''Dubuque Democratic Herald'', March 9, 1864, p. 4. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=A36e8EsbUSoC&dat=18640309&printsec=frontpage&hl=en | 2. "Key City House Rented," ''Dubuque Democratic Herald'', March 9, 1864, p. 4. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=A36e8EsbUSoC&dat=18640309&printsec=frontpage&hl=en | ||
3. "A Free Buss (sic)", ''Dubuque Herald,'' June 19, 1874, p. 4. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=uh8FjILnQOkC&dat=18740619&printsec=frontpage&hl=en | |||
Revision as of 22:45, 31 October 2015
Key City House. The Key City House was erected about 1848, by Thomas C. Fassitt, who designed and used the building as a store and warehouse. The 1858-1859 Dubuque City Directory gave the address as 50 and 52 Main. Russ and Jones were the proprietors.
In 1854, additions were made to the original plan and it was used only for guests, transient and permanent. It was then called the BEAUBIEN HOUSE. Later when Dubuque was named the " Key City," the house, adopted the name.
In February 1864 the hotel was purchased by A. Harger of Milwaukee. (1) It was leased in March to Buckley and Waney who operated the Desoto House in Galena. (2) By 1874 the hotel was operated by W. W. PYNE. The hotel and its restaurant became involved in an "eating house war" with the opening of the Julien. To attract customers, Pyne traveled to St. Louis to purchase an omnibus to carry customers from the ILLINOIS CENTRAL RAILROAD depot at no charge. (3)
The 1859-1860 through 1889 Dubuque City Directory listed the northeast corner of 3rd and Main.
The hotel was owned in 1899 by James N. Hill.
---
Source:
1. "Key City House," Dubuque Democratic Herald, March 1, 1864, p. 4. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=A36e8EsbUSoC&dat=18640301&printsec=frontpage&hl=en
2. "Key City House Rented," Dubuque Democratic Herald, March 9, 1864, p. 4. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=A36e8EsbUSoC&dat=18640309&printsec=frontpage&hl=en
3. "A Free Buss (sic)", Dubuque Herald, June 19, 1874, p. 4. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=uh8FjILnQOkC&dat=18740619&printsec=frontpage&hl=en
See: MERCHANTS' HOTEL
---
Source:
Oldt, Franklin T. The History of Dubuque County,Chicago: Goodspend Historical Society